Sphinx Asks Riddles II

Esteemed Readers,

I offer you another 17th century riddle. At the end of the post I finally publish the right answer to the previous Sphinx’s riddle. Good luck!

  • In Kings’ palace where luxury reigns any feast & game of the Court
  • I may see beauties that burn love.
  • The greatest give me place & everybody demands me.
  • I’m elevated above all & my glory is so huge
  • That I give shelter to immortal Gods.
  • I’m guided with pomp day & night
  • And I often shoe victims & givings.
  • My soul is fire that devours my body 
  • Which may suffer gruesome efforts. 
  • My weeps & my life pass together with me.
  • Oh, Human Race that reigns my force,
  • Is it necessary to perish to serve you?
  • If the payment for my labour
  • Should be only my death? 

 

REPLY to the riddle posted on June 3, 2017: A BUCKET.  My congratulations to Rosaliene Bacchus. She has guessed it out! 😉 😉 😉

Maria KethuProfumo

About kethuprofumo

Reconstructing the Past for the glorious Future
This entry was posted in culture, folklore, fun, Riddles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sphinx Asks Riddles II

  1. I’m going to guess a candle.

  2. This one beats me, Maria 🙂

  3. Hi Maria, great idea and riddle. Is it a candle?

  4. MakeItUltra™ says:

    I have to take a guess! Is it a fireplace?

Leave a Reply

