Kindred spirits: when Budgie & Elephant become friends

This amazing affection between my budgie Gregory and a blue elephant Peter is still a big puzzle for me. One might notice Peter to be a soft toy…Nay! Not for my budgie Gregory. Peter, that’s the name he gave to him, embodied something very particular, something too profound…the kindred spirit, I’d say.

This extraordinary friendship started in a very unusual way. Once I bought a beautiful mug with a magnificent Indian elephant printed on. The elephant was orange, richly decorated. Gregory displayed his curiosity to this object instantly. He began talking, signing with it any time he saw it. And soon he said something that was too odd even for him: “Peter”. We paid no attention to his expression, for no matter our budgie was intelligent & able to talk with sense, it seemed that it was just a talk with the mug. Not this time. Gregory addressed to the elephant: “Peter” constantly & some time after started repeating his name too often during the day. One can imagine a talking budgie, saying “Peter! Peter!” almost every 15 minutes. Then he got sad completely. And we got worried.

‘What if this elephant means something for him indeed,’ it occured to me & I did my best to find a real Peter for my budgie. Well…the result is on the photo))) Both blue & happy. Since the moment soft blue Peter appeared, they separated hardly ever. Peter had a special place at home & every evening they spent together. A blue budgie & a blue elephant, discussing certainly something of high importance.

Each of us has a kindred spirit. And what a joy to discover him on Earth, no matter the material form of his.

PS. I express my gratitude to my Esteemed Readers, Robert Nello & Carol Hand who inspired me to write this post.

Maria KethuProfumo

About kethuprofumo

Reconstructing the Past for the glorious Future
This entry was posted in Friendship, Happiness, Life, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Kindred spirits: when Budgie & Elephant become friends

  1. theburningheart says:

    Kindred Spirit you are, my dear Maria. 🙂

  2. R. J. Nello says:

    Oh, thank you for the mention. That is very kind of you. 🙂

  3. smilecalm says:

    so wonderful!
    i won’t be so
    self conscious
    about my
    stuffed friends 🙂

  4. Leya says:

    😀 Just adorable!

  5. Toortsie says:

    This is a beautiful story! Thank you for sharing.

  6. Thanks for sharing, Maria. Delightful! 🙂

  7. HesterLeyNel says:

    This brought a smile to my face. Very good!

Leave a Reply

